top of page
Search
  • kaylakarimi

Counting Down the Days

My trip is only nine more days away. There are only nine days until I go on a life changing trip. Nine days until I make friends from all over America. Nine days until I experience what my future career could be like. Nine days until I embark on an amazing journey. Words cannot explain how excited I am for this opportunity to learn more about the medical field while living like a college student. As my trip is approaching I have been counting down the days until it starts.


As I count down the days I am currently experiencing the very hot weather in Phoenix. While I have been here I have been doing a bunch of shopping. The conference requires students to wear professional attire during presentations and business casual during other activities. If you know me well enough you would know that I am not a very fancy person which means I do not have nearly enough business and professional clothes to get me through the conference. Because of my lack in clothes, I had to go on a shopping adventure to find some that would fit my conference needs. Let me tell you, it has been one heck of a journey. Before I left Kauai we had done some shopping for clothes. When I came to Phoenix I didn't have everything I needed for Washington DC which is why I had to go on a shopping adventure. I have gone to many thrift shops and found very cute and affordable outfits that are perfect fits for the required outfits, however I still needed black pants and shoes. My grandma and I went to a huge mall (which I am not used to because the mall on Kauai is tiny) on a hunt for the two items. After hours of shopping we found both, and ended it with some delicious Dairy Queen ice cream (we have been going to all the places that Kauai doesn't have). Practically after shopping till dropping I have everything that I need for DC.


It was so much fun finding nice outfits, It pushed me out of my comfort zone in terms of the clothing pieces I picked out. I am excited to see what other students wear and how they are going to express themselves in their attire. I have never been to an event or conference that is anything like what I am going to experience. Continuing with my excitement, I would like to say thank you so much to everyone who has supported me and made this trip possible! I would not have been able to do any of this without you. While it might not seem like a lot your support and this trip is going to shape my future and help me learn about myself. Its crazy to think that my trip is so close. The next time you will hear from me is while I am at my conference. I am so ecstatic to share my experience with all of you who have made it possible.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page